Prof. Jin's Research Group

UI Logo


Faculty Advisor

Jian-Ming Jin received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1989. He joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1993 and is currently the Y. T. Lo Endowed Chair Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Director of the Electromagnetics Laboratory and Center for Computational Electromagnetics. He has authored and co-authored over 280 papers in refereed journals and 22 book chapters. He has also authored The Finite Element Method in Electromagnetics (Wiley, 1st edition 1993, 2nd edition 2002, 3rd edition 2014), Electromagnetic Analysis and Design in Magnetic Resonance Imaging (CRC, 1998), Theory and Computation of Electromagnetic Fields (Wiley, 1st edition 2010, 2nd edition 2015), and co-authored Computation of Special Functions (Wiley, 1996), Fast and Efficient Algorithms in Computational Electromagnetics (Artech, 2001), and Finite Element Analysis of Antennas and Arrays (Wiley, 2008). His current research interests include computational electromagnetics, multi-physics modeling, scattering and antenna analysis, electromagnetic compatibility, high-frequency circuit modeling and analysis, bioelectromagnetics, and magnetic resonance imaging. He was elected by ISI as one of the world’s most cited authors in 2002.

Dr. Jin is a Fellow of the IEEE (elected 2001), the Electromagnetics Academy, and Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES), and a member of URSI Commission B. He was a recipient of the 1994 National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, the 1995 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, the 1999 ACES Valued Service Award, the 2014 ACES Technical Achievement Award, the 2015 IEEE Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award, the 2016 ACES Computational Electromagnetics Award, and the 2017 IEEE Harrington-Mittra Computational Electromagnetics Award. He also received the 1997 Xerox Junior Research Award and the 2000 Xerox Senior Research Award presented by the College of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and was appointed as the first Henry Magnuski Outstanding Young Scholar in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1998 and later as a Sony Scholar in 2005. He was appointed as a Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Air Force Research Laboratory in 1999 and was awarded Adjunct, Visiting, Guest, or Chair Professorship by 12 institutions around the world. His name appeared 26 times in the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s List of Excellent Instructors. His students have won the best paper awards in IEEE 16th Topical Meeting on Electrical Performance of Electronic Packaging and 25th, 27th, 31st, and 32nd Annual Review of Progress in Applied Computational Electromagnetics. He served as an Associate Editor and Guest Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, Radio Science, Electromagnetics, Microwave and Optical Technology Letters, and Medical Physics. In 2015, he received the Edward E. Altschuler AP-S Magazine Prize Paper Award, and was appointed as the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Lecturer.

• Complete CV

Current Students

Past Students

Past Visitors